Monday, May 26, 2014

Know About Modi Ministers

Forty-five ministers were sworn in along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday. Even though there is still no official confirmation on portfolio distribution, here is a tentative list on who might get what.    
Rajnath Singh: ministry of home affairs

He is the longest-serving chief of the BJP after Atal Bihari Vajpayee. As the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh (country's most populous state), Singh, 62, introduced RTI allowing anybody to scan government files after paying a fee of Rs. 10. During his stint as the Union surface transport minister, Singh conceived Bharat Stage emission standard, replacing its European counterpart — Euro.
Arun Jaitley: finance ministry and additional charge of the defence ministry
An ace strategist, the 61-year-old leader has been the BJP's most prominent face in Rajya Sabha. A former Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) activist, Jaitley has the reputation of being a clean leader. He has been the party's chief troubleshooter and is considered close to Modi.

Sushma Swaraj: ministry of external affairs
The 62-year-old leader is the BJP's woman face in and outside Parliament. She earned laurels for showing political courage by taking on Sonia Gandhi from Bellary in 1999. She took over as the first woman chief minister of Delhi in 1998. Born in Haryana, Swaraj has represented Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh in both Houses of Parliament. -

Nitin Gadkari: surface transport ministry and shipping ministry
The 56-year-old leader from Nagpur is a blue-eyed boy of the RSS. As BJP's national president between 2010 and 2012, he was praised and criticised for his unconventional style of politics. He was a PWD minister in the erstwhile BJP-Shiv Sena Maharashtra government and had overseen the building of the remarkable Mumbai-Pune expressway and 55 flyovers in Mumbai.
Ananth Kumar: parliamentary affairs ministry + additional charge

A veteran politician, Kumar is known as a strategist and a troubleshooter within the party. A six-time MP from Karnataka, 54-year-old Kumar was the minister of civil aviation in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.
Sadanand Gowda: railway ministry
Gowda, 63, started his political career with the ABVP and has also been associated with the Jan Sangh. The BJP won the assembly election for the first time in South India in May 2008 under his leadership as the president of the state unit of the party. He was named as the CM in August 2011 after his mentor BS Yeddyurappa resigned.
Venkaiah Naidu: urban development ministry
The former BJP chief is a Rajya Sabha MP from Karnataka. The 64-year-old leader is the party's face from South India and among the first ones who backed Modi's projection as the PM candidate. Naidu held portfolios like agriculture in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.
Ravi Shankar Prasad: telecom ministry and law and justice ministry
The 57-year-old BJP leader from Bihar is a Supreme Court lawyer and the deputy leader of the party in Rajya Sabha. As a student leader, he participated in the JP movement and was imprisoned during the Emergency. He was crucial in getting a case registered against former Bihar chief minister Lalu Prasad in a fodder scam. Born to a prominent Kayastha family in Patna, his father, late Thakur Prasad, was one of the founders of the Jan Sangh (the BJP's predecessor) and closely associated with the RSS.
Maneka Gandhi: women and child development ministry
Wife of late Congress stalwart Sanjay Gandhi, Maneka, 52, was a minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. The MP from Pilibhit is an animal lover and a strong voice for protection of environment and forest. Her son Varun Gandhi is also a BJP MP from Sultanpur.
Najma Heptulla: ministry of minorities
Heptullah, 74, is one of the seven women ministers and the only Muslim face in the cabinet. She is the grand-niece of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad and is a Rajya Sabha member. She had contested the vice-presidential elections held in August 2007 but lost to Hamid Ansari.
Smriti Irani: human resource development ministry
A member of Rajya Sabha from Gujarat, 38-year-old Irani made it big on the small screen. Chosen by the party to give a fight to Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, Irani is also considered close to Modi. Currently holding the post of party's vice-president, she headed BJP's women's front when Nitin Gadkari was the party president. She is known for her brilliant oratory skills.
Radha Mohan Singh: agriculture ministry
The 64-year-old leader is an MP from Purvi Champaran in Bihar. Considered close to the RSS, Singh has remained a low-profile leader. This is his fourth innings in the Lok Sabha. He pipped a fellow Thakur leader, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, to get a place in Modi's team.
Nirmala Sitharaman: MoS commerce
The 54-year-old BJP leader is an official spokesperson of the party. Nirmala Sitharaman worked with PricewaterhouseCoopers and the BBC in London before being nominated to the National Commission for Women in Delhi. She later came in touch with Sushma Swaraj and decided to join the BJP despite her family's links with the Congress.
Piyush Goyal: MoS (independent) power and coal
Chartered accountant Goyal, 49, is the party's national treasurer. He is an all-India second rank holder in chartered accountant examinations and also the second rank holder in law in Mumbai University. He has worked closely with Modi on his election campaign and has good contacts in Mumbai's business world. His father, late VP Goyal, was a minister in the Vajpayee government and the party's treasurer for over two decades.
Prakash Javadekar: MoS information & broadcasting
He is a Rajya Sabha MP. He was elected to the Upper House from Maharashtra in 2008. Javadekar, 63, is considered close to senior BJP leader LK Advani. A full-time worker of the BJP since its inception in 1980, he is presently the party's spokesperson. He was the executive chairman of the state planning board of Maharashtra during BJP-Shiv Sena rule from 1995-1999. Before joining the BJP, Javadekar was an ABVP activist and a student leader in Pune.
Ram Vilas Paswan: food and civil supplies ministry
The 67-year-old leader became a member of the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1977 on the Janata Party's ticket. Paswan served as the railway minister from 1996 to 1998. He broke away from the Janata Dal (United) to form his Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) in 2000. Paswan's LJP quit the NDA in the wake of the Gujarat riots in 2002. The LJP was part of the Congress-led UPA from 2004 to 2009. The LJP chief returned to the NDA after nearly 12 years ahead of the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Link Hindustan Times
Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister of India. He is heading a 45-member Union Council of Ministers including 24 with Cabinet rank.
Cabinet 1. Rajnath Singh
2. Arun Jaitley
3. Nitin Gadkari
4. Sushma Swaraj
5. Venkaiah Naidu
6. Sadanand Gowda
7. Uma Bharti
8. Najma Heptullah
9. Gopinath Munde
10. Ramvilas Paswan
11. Kalraj Mishra
12. Maneka Gandhi
13. Ananth Kumar
14. Ravi Shankar Prasad
15. Ashok Gajapathi Raju
16. Anant Geete
17. Harsimrat Kaur Badal
18. Narendra Singh Tomar
19. Jual Oram
20. Radha Mohan Singh
21. Thawar Chand Gehlot
22. Smriti Irani
23. Dr. Harsh Vardhan
Ministers of State
24. Gen VK Singh
25. Rao Inderjeet Singh
26. Santosh Kumar Gangwar
27. Sripad Naik
28. Dharmendra Pradhan
29. Sarbananda Sonowal
30. Prakash Javadekar
31. Piyush Goyal
32. Dr. Jitendra Singh
33. Nirmala Sitharaman
34. GM Siddeshwara
35. Manoj Sinha
36. Upendra Kushwaha
37. Pon Radhakrishnan
38. Kiren Rijiju
39. Krishan Pal Gujjar
40. Sanjiv Baliyan
41. Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava
42. Raosaheb Dadarao Patil Danve
43. Vishnudev Sahai
44. Sudarshan Bhagat
45. Nihalchand Chauhan

No comments: